Jamie Shaw & Shaurya Kapani both from Mumbai, dominated proceedings in the Pro Senior & Junior categories, at the Ajmera IndiKarting Clash of Karts. The event was a resounding success with over 650 registrations translating into 204 entries from across the country, in India’s largest karting event. The culmination of the 3 round, Clash of Pros Season 2 saw Rahul Deshpande win the Pro Senior while Shaurya Kapani won the Pro Junior.

Qualifying on pole in the Pro Senior, Jamie Shaw got off to an excellent start. He pulled away to win Race 1 comfortably. Rahul Deshpande was second, just ahead of Danesh Banajee. Race 2 start order is based on the entire results of Race 1 being reversed. Jah Wadia started on pole & held the lead for a while. Jamie Shaw however proved to be in excellent form. He made his way through the entire field & managed to take his second consecutive victory, once again ahead of Rahul & Danesh. Race 3 proved to be the most exciting. Danesh made a good start from third to move ahead of Rahul. He soon overtook Jamie to move into the lead. Rahul moved upto 2nd and he and Danesh were nose to tail for close to 20 laps. Danesh drove an excellent defensive race to win race 3, followed by Rahul & Jamie.

Raiden Samervel grabbed pole by a mere 5 hundreths of a second, ahead of Veer Sheth in the Pro Junior. He went on to win Race 1 ahead of Shaurya Kapani & Veer. The reverse grid Race 2, saw Shaurya notch an excellent victory ahead of Nirvaan Chandna & Hoshmand Elavia. Race 3 saw Veer Sheth start third & make his way up to win ahead of Shaurya & Raiden.

Sawan Sathyanarayan from Bengaluru won the Open & Amateur categories. Mumbai lads Ojas Surve & Sasvat Jain followed him in the Open category, while Chandan Hegde & Ojas were second & third in the Amateur Category.

Ayan Jussawalla (DPYA High School) triumphed in the Inter-School Category ahead of Advaith Jampa (Tridha School) & Aditya Patnaik (Delhi Public School). Sasvat Jain (Indian School of Design & Innovation) took top honours in the Inter-College category. Tej Patel (Podar International School) & Raghav Vaishnav (Jai Hind College) were second & third. Chintan Shah (Deltron Electricals) won the Corporate Category ahead of Mark Shaw (Shawman Software) and Aashwath Chowta (Afwah Media Consultants).

Isha Sharma from Belgaum was the winner of the Women’s category ahead of Aashi Hanspal & Maariyah Sheikh. Jamie Shaw beat Aman Singh Bhui & Kiran Pardeshi in the Veteran category, while Sawan S finished ahead of Chintan Shah & Prashant Sonpar in the Master category. Raghav Vaishnav triumphed in the Senior Plus category with Paarth Damani & Adil Shah completing the podium.

Fahad Kutty won the Pro Senior Plus category ahead of Mihir Patel & Raghav Vaishnav. Members of the media also participated in a special category for themselves, with Gaurav Davare of ZigWheels winning the race ahead of Saurabh Gamare (Exhibit Magazine). Rajesh Dsouza (Zee TV) was third.

The event was also the culmination of the 2nd season of the 3 round Clash of Pros. Rahul Deshpande was the overall winner of the Pro Senior category with a total of 63 points ahead of Jamie Shaw with 54 points. Danesh Banajee who missed the 2nd round due to a rib injury was third with 52 points. Shaurya Kapani was the overall winner in the Pro Junior with 28 points. He was followed by Veer Sheth on 61 points, while Raiden Samervel with 51 points was third.

The prestigious Akshay Patil Memorial Trophy was awarded to Veer Sheth.

It has been a fantastic event with so many newcomers trying the sport for the first time. 204 entries was tough to handle but everything went smoothly. A huge thanks to the Ajmera group, due to whom, we have this fantastic facility in Mumbai” said Rayomand Banajee, founder IndiKarting.

Results –

Pro Senior –

Race 1 – 1. Jamie Shaw. 2. Rahul Deshpande. 3. Danesh Banajee

Race 2 – 1. Jamie Shaw. 2. Rahul Deshpande. 3. Danesh Banajee

Race 3 – 1. Danesh Banajee. 2. Rahul Deshpande. 3. Jamie Shaw

Pro Junior –

Race 1 – 1. Raiden Samervel 2. Shaurya Kapani 3. Veer Sheth

Race 2 – 1. Shaurya Kapani. 2. Nirvaan Chandna. 3. Hoshmand Elavia

Race 3 – 1. Veer Sheth. 2. Shaurya Kapani. 3. Raiden Samervel

Pro Senior Plus –  1. Fahad Kutty. 2. Mihir Patel. 3. Raghav Vaishnav.

Open – 1. Sawan Sathyanarayan. 2. Ojas Surve. 3. Sasvat Jain

Inter School – 1. Ayaan Jussawalla (DPYA High School) 2. Advaith Jampa (Tridha School) 3. Aditya Patnaik (Delhi Public School)

Amatuer – 1. Sawan Sathyanarayan. 2. Chandan Hegde. 3. Ojas Surve

Inter College – 1. Sasvat Jain (Indian School of Design & Innovation) 2. Tej Patel (Podar International School). 3. Raghav Vaishnav (Jai Hind College)

Women – 1. Isha Sharma. 2. Aashi Hanspal. 3. Maariyah Sheikh

Corporate – 1. Chintan Shah (Deltron Electricals) 2. Mark Shaw (Shawman Software) 3. Aashwath Chowta (Afwah Media Consultants)

Senior Plus – 1. Raghav Vaishnav. 2. Paarth Damani. 3. Adil Shah

Master – 1. Sawan Sathyanarayan 2. Chintan Shah. 3. Prashant Sonpar

Veteran – 1. Jamie Shaw. 2. Aman Singh Bhui. 3. Kiran Pardeshi

Media – 1. Gaurav (ZigWheels) 2. Saurabh Gamare (Exhibit Magazine) 3. Rajesh Dsouza (Zee TV)

Clash of Pros (Overall after 3 rounds)

Pro Senior – 1. Rahul Deshpande (63 points) 2. Jamie Shaw (54 points). 3. Danesh Banajee (52 points)

Pro Junior – 1. Shaurya Kapani (78 points) 2. Veer Sheth (61 points). 3. Raiden Samervel (51 points)

Pro Senior Plus – 1. Raghav Vaishnav (19 points) 2. Fahad Kutty (17 points) 3. Mihir Patel (13 points)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social profiles